EUROPAS GROßE
SPORTWAGEN COMMUNITY

Porsche 996 and 993

BWhiteGT

Empfohlene Beiträge

Hi all. I am new to this message board, and I have a question for you. Can someone please tell me the difference between a 996 and 993. Also, I have heard that a 996 is the same thing as a 911 Turbo. I don't believe this to be true, but can someone please point me in the right direction? Thanks for your time. :???:

Jetzt registrieren, um Themenwerbung zu deaktivieren »

These names are factory names for 911. 964 was the early 90s and 993 the middle and the late was the 996. The first turbo they called 930 wich was active during 70s and 80s. The 2nd that was on the 964 model some people call 965. But after that on the 993 and 996 the turbo model haven got a own number. The cars you see today C2/C4, Turbo, GT3 and GT2 all belong to the newest 996 model.

Who here considers the 996 to be 'less of a porsche' than the 993.......

I never really liked the front end of the 996, and it doesn't sound Porsche-like either. Its a great car- no doubt...but they lost some magic from 993 to 996.

The 993 's' models were the best looking in my opinion. Also, although I have never driven a 996 Turbo, apparently they are not as wild and crazy as the old ones...thats a shame....911 Turbos used to be scary..and I like that.

My fav of all time....probably 964 Turbo (limited edition Lightweight). Looks wild and scares the driver!

anyone agree......

On 2002-02-22 12:29, manu_sachdeva wrote:

Who here considers the 996 to be 'less of a porsche' than the 993.......

I never really liked the front end of the 996, and it doesn't sound Porsche-like either. Its a great car- no doubt...but they lost some magic from 993 to 996.

The 993 's' models were the best looking in my opinion. Also, although I have never driven a 996 Turbo, apparently they are not as wild and crazy as the old ones...thats a shame....911 Turbos used to be scary..and I like that.